Local teachers are recipients of $500 grant

Monroe County Electric Cooperative (MCEC) awarded 15 $500 Touchstone Energy Empowerment grants to area teachers/administrators that submitted applications. The applications were judged by cooperative employees from neighboring electric co-ops.

This is the 14th consecutive year that the cooperative has awarded school grants to area schools.

Two local teachers were awarded grants: Red Bud High School science teacher Julie Lewis, with her electric cars with a clock reaction project and Sarah Bartosik, special education teacher from Perandoe Special Education School, with her differentiated instruction project.

For more on the grants, please see this week’s print edition.