Red Bud Council said farewell to two aldermen Monday night

THANKED FOR SERVICE–Mike Reed, at left, and Glenn Linnertz, at right, were thanked for their years of service on the Red Bud City Council at Monday night’s council meeting. Red Bud Mayor Tim Lowry is pictured with the pair.

At Monday night’s Red Bud City Council meeting, the council said goodbye to two aldermen and gave the oath of office to those that had been elected last month.

Leaving the council were Ward I Alderman Glenn Linnertz and Ward IV Alderman Mike Reed. Linnertz has served as an alderman since 2007, while Reed has served since 2011.

Mayor Tim Lowry thanked the pair for their years of service and presented them with a plaque.

Also recognized, but not in attendance was Barton Miller, who had served on the planning commission.

Taking over as alderman for Ward I is Jeremy DeMond and for Ward IV is Mike Rheinecker. Both were sworn in with the reelected officials: Mayor Tim Lowry, Ward II Alderman Kyle Donjon, Ward III Alderman David Friess, Ward III Alderman Curtis Guebert (reelected on a two year unexpired term), City Clerk Joanne Cowell and Treasurer Marcia Esker.

For more from the Red Bud City Council meeting, please see this week’s print edition.