Randolph County given warning status by state

On July 24, the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) reported that four counties in the state were “considered to be at a warning level for novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19).”

Those counties were Adams, LaSalle, Peoria and Randolph. All four were reported to have seen outbreaks associated with businesses and risky behavior.

IDPH noted that counties are put on a warning level when they have two or more COVID-19 risk indicators that measure the amount of increased cases.

In Randolph County, it was reported that the risky behaviors included “congregate settings, numerous bars not complying with distancing and masking, a large party with more than 200 people, and among households.”

Also, IDPH stated that they use numerous indicators to determine if COVID-19 activity is stable or if there is increased risk.

For more information, please see this week’s print edition.